Each year Leadership Howard County honors individuals for outstanding dedication and commitment to serving our community.  These honorees exemplify the goals of Leadership at the highest level: using their skills and resources to make a positive impact on the community, and providing a lasting legacy for others to follow.

The 2015 Leadership Awards will be presented at our Annual Award Dinner and Graduation on June 9, 2015.

The Distinguished Alumni Award, sponsored by the Association of Leadership Professionals (ALP), recognizes one graduate who has made a significant and notable contribution for the betterment of our community, exemplifying the spirit and goals for civic involvement and trusteeship that Leadership Howard County promotes.

Bob Jeffrey (1991): Executive Director, The Jeffrey Group at Morgan Stanley

Bob Jeffrey is well known throughout the community for providing insightful and judicious leadership to a wide variety of organizations that improve and enrich life in Howard County. A member of the Leadership Howard County class of 1991, Bob has generously donated his personal and professional resources to dozens of organizations including the Horizon Foundation, Family & Children’s Services of Central Maryland, JREF and the Howard Community College Educational Foundation, among many others. Bob has also been a vital partner with the Leadership Howard County team, ensuring a sustainable legacy to carry forward the mission of developing future community leaders. Read more

The Leadership Legacy Award celebrates a Leadership Howard County graduate or friend whose sustained service to Howard County has added enduring value to our community.  Individuals honored with this award have a long-standing commitment to civic involvement and have proven instrumental in creating real and continuing positive change for our citizens.

Barbara Lawson (LP 1990): Partner, Synergies Consulting Group

Barbara Lawson has provided a quarter century of leadership excellence to the Howard County nonprofit community, demonstrating her passion for excellence and personal integrity through her work with countless organizations. As President and CEO of The Columbia Foundation for almost 20 years, Barbara grew The Columbia Foundation from an entity created to help develop Columbia into Howard County’s community foundation. A dedicated and visionary leader, Barbara has served on the boards or as a consultant to Leadership Howard County, Maryland University of Integrative Health, United Way of Central MD, Association of Community Services, Bright Minds Foundation, Columbia Festival of the Arts and many more. Her passion for enduring community engagement has created an inspiring leadership legacy.  Read more

The Unsung Hero Award recognizes a graduate whose efforts have not made headlines but have made a difference.  The Unsung Hero works behind the scenes to serve the community, recognizing that service is its own reward. This award provides him or her with some well-deserved appreciation.

Richard Dean (LP 1999): President, Environmental Systems Associates

The Arc of Howard County would not be the organization it is today if not for the efforts and support of Richard Dean. Richard has dedicated his time, skills and leadership to creating opportunities and enriching the lives of those with developmental disabilities through his work with The Arc of Howard County and the Arc of Maryland. For almost two decades, he has served on nearly every committee and held every office. As the father and stepfather of two young women served by the Arc, he sets the example for all parents in seeking opportunities to support their independence, and supporting the agencies families need to make a full life possible.    Read more

Past Distinguished Alumni honorees

2014     Paul Gleichauf

2013     Paul Skalny

2012     George Doetsch

2011     Michael Galeone

2010     Brenda von Rautenkranz

2009     James Robey

2008     Susan Rosenbaum

2007     Dick Story

2006     Andrea Ingram

2005     Dr. Bob Sheff

2004     Donna Ange

2003     Henry Posko

2002     Joanne Davis

2001     Barbara Lawson

2000     Dennis Miller

1999     Kevin Kelehan

1998     Steve Gershman

1997     Shirley Collier

1996     Steven Breeden

1995     Herschel Langenthal

1994     Stephen Pindell

1993     Donald Manekin

1992     Lee Wilhide

1991     Hamish Osborne

1990     William Munn

1989     John Isbister

1988     Beverly Wilhide

1987     Joe Engle


Past Leadership Legacy Award honorees

2014     James Robey and Dennis Lane (in memoriam)

2013     Joseph Murray

2012     Mike and Joanne Davis

2011     Steve Sachs

2010     Dr. Chuck Ecker and Maggie Brown (In Memoriam)

2009     Chip Lundy

2008     Dick McCauley

2007     Vic Broccolino

2006     Pat Kennedy

2005     Jean Moon

2004     Jim Moxley

2003     Maurice Simpkins

2002     Dick Talkin

2001     Donald Manekin and Bob Gaw

Past Unsung Hero honorees

2014      Felicita Sola Carter

2013     Anne Towne

2012     Lynn Coleman

2011     Suellen Seigel

2010     Roy Appletree

2009     Becky Mangus

2008     Joe Willmott

2007     Judy Pittman

2006     Ron Schimmel

2005     Ed Waddell

2004     Pete and Beth Horowitz

2003     Mike Russo

2002     Cole Schnorf

2001     Darrell Nevin

The Youth Advocate Award was created to recognize those who provided exemplary service to improve the lives and well-being of Howard County’s young people.

Past Youth Advocate honorees

2014    Valerie Gross

2013     Laura Smit

2012     Sydney Cousin

2011     Jean Parker

2010     Diane Mikulis

2009     Doug Hostetler

2008     Sandy French

2007    Carole MacPhee

2006    Dale Jackson

2005    Mimi O’Donnell

2004    Shirley Collier

2003    Jane Walker

2002    Rosemary Mortimer

2001    Cindy Truitt