Each year Leadership Howard County has honored individuals for outstanding dedication and commitment to serving our community. These honorees exemplify the goals of leadership at the highest level: using their skills and resources to make a positive impact on the community and providing an enduring legacy for others to follow. For 2023, LHC has merged the previous Leadership Legacy, Unsung Hero, and Distinguished Alumni Awards into a new category, LHC’s Key Leader, which acknowledges the key past award attributes, while looking ahead to LHC’s future. We are also thrilled to announce the addition of two new awards, LHC’s Emerging Leader, which recognizes a recent Premier graduate for their engagement and advocacy, and LHC’s Corporate Community Impact Leader, which recognizes a company for their compassion and service to the community. For 2023, we are honored to have awarded the following individuals at A Night of Illuminating Leadership ~ Emerging Leader, Heather Chapman, LP ’23; Key Leader, Zack Shariff, LP ’12; and, Corporate Community Impact Award recipient, Althea’s Almost Famous ~ congratulations!

This award recognizes one graduate who has made a significant and notable contribution for the betterment of our community, exemplifying the spirit and goals for civic involvement and trusteeship that Leadership Howard County promotes.

2021 Dr. Kate Hetherington

2019 Ananta Hejeebu

2018 Rob Moxley

2017 Brian Walter

2016 Malynda Madzel

2015 Bob Jeffrey

2014 Paul Gleichauf

2013 Paul Skalny

2012 George Doetsch

2011 Michael Galeone

2010 Brenda von Rautenkranz

2009 James Robey

2008 Susan Rosenbaum

2007 Dick Story

2006 Andrea Ingram

2005 Dr. Bob Sheff

2004 Donna Ange

2003 Henry Posko

2002 Joanne Davis

2001 Barbara Lawson

2000 Dennis Miller

1999 Kevin Kelehan

1998 Steve Gershman

1997 Shirley Collier

1996 Steven Breeden

1995 Herschel Langenthal

1994 Stephen Pindell

1993 Donald Manekin

1992 Lee Wilhide

1991 Hamish Osborne

1990 William Munn

1989 John Isbister

1988 Beverly Wilhide

1987 Joe Engle

This award celebrates a Leadership Howard County graduate or friend whose sustained service to Howard County has added enduring value to our community. Individuals honored with this award have a long-standing commitment to civic involvement and have proven instrumental in creating real and continuing positive change for our citizens.

2021    Evelyn Bolduc

2021    Jackie Eng

2019    Phyllis Madachy

2018    Vivian Bailey

2017    Earl and Mary Armiger

2016    Richard Story

2015     Barbara Lawson

2014     James Robey and Dennis Lane (in memoriam)

2013     Joseph Murray

2012     Mike and Joanne Davis

2011     Steve Sachs

2010     Dr. Chuck Ecker and Maggie Brown (In Memoriam)

2009     Chip Lundy

2008     Dick McCauley

2007     Vic Broccolino

2006     Pat Kennedy

2005     Jean Moon

2004     Jim Moxley

2003     Maurice Simpkins

2002     Dick Talkin

2001     Donald Manekin and Bob Gaw

This award recognizes a graduate whose efforts have not made headlines but have made a difference. They have worked behind the scenes to serve the community, recognizing that service is its own reward. This award acknowledges their dedication provides him or her with some well-deserved appreciation.

2021    Bruce Hollander

2019    Tom Burtzlaff

2018    Pete Mangione

2017    Ilana Bittner

2016    Edward “Chip” Plitt

2015     Richard Dean

2014     Felicita Sola Carter

2013     Anne Towne

2012     Lyn Coleman

2011     Suellen Seigel

2010     Roy Appletree

2009     Becky Mangus

2008     Joe Willmott

2007     Judy Pittman

2006     Ron Schimmel

2005     Ed Waddell

2004     Pete and Beth Horowitz

2003     Mike Russo

2002     Cole Schnorf

2001     Darrell Nevin

These award winners were recognized as those who provided exemplary service to improve the lives and well-being of Howard County’s young people.

2014     Valerie Gross

2013     Laura Smit

2012     Sydney Cousin

2011     Jean Parker

2010     Diane Mikulis

2009     Doug Hostetler

2008     Sandy French

2007     Carole MacPhee

2006     Dale Jackson

2005     Mimi O’Donnell

2004     Shirley Collier

2003     Jane Walker

2002     Rosemary Mortimer

2001     Cindy Truitt