Leadership Howard County Annual Awards

Each year Leadership Howard County honors individuals for outstanding dedication and commitment to serving our community.  These honorees exemplify the goals of Leadership at the highest level: using their skills and resources to make a positive impact on the community, and providing a lasting legacy for others to follow.

Nominations for 2017 honorees are now being accepted!  Please click here for the nomination form. Deadline to submit your nominations is February 8, 2017.

The 2017 Leadership Awards will be presented at our Annual Award Dinner and Graduation on June 13, 2017.


The Distinguished Alumni Award, sponsored by the Association of Leadership Professionals (ALP), recognizes one graduate who has made a significant and notable contribution for the betterment of our community, exemplifying the spirit and goals for civic involvement and trusteeship that Leadership Howard County promotes.

2016    Malynda Madzel
2015     Bob Jeffrey
2014     Paul Gleichauf
2013     Paul Skalny
2012     George Doetsch
2011     Michael Galeone
2010     Brenda von Rautenkranz
2009     James Robey
2008     Susan Rosenbaum
2007     Dick Story
2006     Andrea Ingram
2005     Dr. Bob Sheff
2004     Donna Ange
2003     Henry Posko
2002     Joanne Davis
2001     Barbara Lawson
2000     Dennis Miller
1999     Kevin Kelehan
1998     Steve Gershman
1997     Shirley Collier
1996     Steven Breeden
1995     Herschel Langenthal
1994     Stephen Pindell
1993     Donald Manekin
1992     Lee Wilhide
1991     Hamish Osborne
1990     William Munn
1989     John Isbister
1988     Beverly Wilhide
1987     Joe Engle


The Leadership Legacy Award celebrates a Leadership Howard County graduate or friend whose sustained service to Howard County has added enduring value to our community.  Individuals honored with this award have a long-standing commitment to civic involvement and have proven instrumental in creating real and continuing positive change for our citizens.

2016    Richard Story

2015     Barbara Lawson

2014     James Robey and Dennis Lane (in memoriam)

2013     Joseph Murray

2012     Mike and Joanne Davis

2011     Steve Sachs

2010     Dr. Chuck Ecker and Maggie Brown (In Memoriam)

2009     Chip Lundy

2008     Dick McCauley

2007     Vic Broccolino

2006     Pat Kennedy

2005     Jean Moon

2004     Jim Moxley

2003     Maurice Simpkins

2002     Dick Talkin

2001     Donald Manekin and Bob Gaw


The Unsung Hero Award recognizes a graduate whose efforts have not made headlines but have made a difference. The Unsung Hero works behind the scenes to serve the community, recognizing that service is its own reward. This award provides him or her with some well-deserved appreciation.

2016    Edward “Chip” Plitt

2015     Richard Dean

2014      Felicita Sola Carter

2013     Anne Towne

2012     Lynn Coleman

2011     Suellen Seigel

2010     Roy Appletree

2009     Becky Mangus

2008     Joe Willmott

2007     Judy Pittman

2006     Ron Schimmel

2005     Ed Waddell

2004     Pete and Beth Horowitz

2003     Mike Russo

2002     Cole Schnorf

2001     Darrell Nevin


Past Youth Advocate Awards winners recognized those who provided exemplary service to improve the lives and well-being of Howard County’s young people.

2014     Valerie Gross

2013     Laura Smit

2012     Sydney Cousin

2011     Jean Parker

2010     Diane Mikulis

2009     Doug Hostetler

2008     Sandy French

2007     Carole MacPhee

2006     Dale Jackson

2005     Mimi O’Donnell

2004     Shirley Collier

2003     Jane Walker

2002     Rosemary Mortimer

2001     Cindy Truitt

  • Upcoming Events

    • This Just In: Columbia's 50th Birthday

      A discussion with Barbara Kellner, Director of the Columbia Archives, about how Columbia’s development has impacted Howard County and what the future holds. Tour…   READ MORE

    • General Membership Breakfast

      Addressing the Heroin and Opioid Crisis in Maryland Guest speaker: Dr. Bankole Johnson: One of the country’s leading authorities on the use of psychopharmacology…   READ MORE

    • This Just In: Reimagining Ellicott City

      Join us for a discussion about reimagining the future of Ellicott City as it rebuilds from the flood of 2016. Consultant Brad Rogers of Advanced…   READ MORE

    • Member Happy Hour

      Join us for a member Happy Hour on Main Street! 4:30 – 5:30 pm: Manor Hill Tavern 5:30 – 6:30: LaPalapa Ticket includes one…   READ MORE

    • Annual Awards Dinner and Graduation

      Join us to celebrate the graduation of the Premier and Essentials Classes of 2017, and honor Howard County’s outstanding leaders. Alumni and guests are…   READ MORE

    • Testimonials

      Kathleen Hetherington

      Kathleen Hetherington

      President, Howard Community College

      Each year, participants from the college confirm what an invaluable experience Leadership Howard County was for them, engaging them and providing opportunities to meet others interested in serving Howard County!

© 2017 Leadership Howard County. All rights reserved.